Media contact information

Arctic Council Secretariat

Fram Centre, Postboks 6606 Langnes
9296 Tromsø, Norway

Press Enquiries:
Arctic Council Secretariat

Contact the Arctic Council Secretariat

Kristina Bär
Kristina Bär
Head of Communications
Jessica Cook
Jessica Cook
Public Relations Officer
Anna Degteva
Anna Degteva
IPS Executive Secretary
Kseniia Iartceva
Kseniia Iartceva
Executive Secretary, ACAP
Rosa-Máren Magga
Rosa-Máren Magga
IPS Advisor
Sue Novotny
Sue Novotny
Web and Digital Media Officer
Ingeborg Ytterstad Pettersen
Ingeborg Ytterstad Pettersen
Technology Officer
Joёl Plouffe
Joёl Plouffe
Senior Advisor
André Skrivervik
André Skrivervik
Head of Administration
Inna Tarysheva
Inna Tarysheva
Special Advisor
Nina Ågren
Nina Ågren
Executive Secretary, EPPR

Permanent Participants

Aleut International Association

The Aleut International Association (AIA) is a not-for-profit corporation that represents Indigenous peoples of Aleut descent in the United States and the Russian Federation.

Arctic Athabaskan Council

The Arctic Athabaskan Council (AAC) is an international treaty organization that represents approximately 45,000 Indigenous peoples of Athabaskan descent spanning 76 communities in Alaska, US, Yukon and Northwest Territories in Canada.

Gwich'in Council International

Gwich'in Council International (GCI) represents the Gwich'in in Canada and USA.

Inuit Circumpolar Council

The Inuit Circumpolar Council (ICC) is an international Indigenous Peoples Organization that was founded in 1977 by the late Eben Hopson, Sr. of Utqiagvik, Alaska.

Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North

The Russian Association of Indigenous Peoples of the North (RAIPON) represents 40 Indigenous Peoples that live in the North of the Russian Federation.

Saami Council

The Saami Council is a non-governmental organization that represents between 50,000 to 80,000 Saami that live in Finland, the Russian Federation, Norway and Sweden. The Saami Council has nine member organizations: three in Norway, three in Sweden, two in the Russian Federation and one in Finland.

Working groups

Arctic Contaminants Action Program

ACAP’s mission is to contribute to the efforts to reduce environmental risks and prevent pollution of the Arctic environment. ACAP acts as a strengthening and supporting mechanism of the Arctic Council, encouraging national actions to reduce emissions and releases of pollutants and to reduce environmental, human health and socio-economic risks.

Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme

The mission of the Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Programme Working Group (AMAP) is to monitor and assess pollution and climate change issues in the Arctic. AMAP produces independent, science-based and peer-reviewed assessments of the status of pollution and climate change in the Arctic in order to provide the basis for sound policy- and decision-making.

Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna

CAFF is the biodiversity working group of the Arctic Council and consists of National Representatives assigned by each of the eight Arctic Council Member States, representatives of Indigenous Peoples' organizations that are Permanent Participants to the Council, and Arctic Council observer countries and organizations. The CAFF Working Group operates by the Arctic Council Rules of Procedures.

Emergency Prevention, Preparedness and Response

The Emergency Prevention, Preparedness and Response (EPPR) Working Group is mandated to contribute to the prevention, preparedness and response to environmental and other emergencies, accidents and search and rescue (SAR). While not an operational response organization, EPPR conducts projects to address gaps, prepare strategies, share information, collect data, and collaborate with relevant partners on capabilities and research needs that exist in the Arctic.

Protection of the Arctic Marine Environment

The PAME Working Group is the focal point of the Arctic Council’s activities related to the protection and sustainable use of the Arctic marine environment.

Sustainable Development Working Group

The Sustainable Development Working Group (SDWG) focuses on the human dimensions of the Arctic. It works to protect and enhance the environment, economy, social conditions and health of Indigenous peoples and Arctic inhabitants.


Non-Arctic states

Thirteen Non-arctic States have been approved as Observers to the Arctic Council:

Intergovernmental and interparliamentary organizations

Intergovernmental and Inter-Parliamentary Organizations with an approved observer status.

Non-governmental organizations

Twelve Non-governmental Organizations are approved Observers in the Arctic Council.